You Got Funk

1-Body-Odor

The first time I tangibly learned that hikers get stinky was a sixty-mile hike I went on a few years ago. However, my realization did not come at the end of the hike. It came fairly quickly. The second day kind of quickly. I was on the trail with four other guys when one of them re-injured his foot from a previous recreational activity.  Eight miles into the first day he was beginning to feel the pain causing him to pause occasionally to rest his foot. As the next day came, he chose to continue because he believes going forward far outweighs going backwards. A few miles into our day, his foot began to lock up again so when we found signal on our phone, he gave his wife a call and cashed in his Get Off The Trail Free card. When she arrived, she was very courteous to us however, she was sure to let us know very kindly that we reeked of an unpleasant odor. He left the trail and I continued on in my stench for five more days.

Another occurrence was a trip I took with a friend for an overnight hike in the heat of summer. We hiked a twelve-mile loop; a very fun and rewarding time in the woods. When we reached his truck, I changed my shoes as always. My hiking boots are for hiking only. He didn’t have much to say for the first few miles. We reached an Amish store where we found a great turkey sandwich and Birch Beer (root beer) for lunch. When we got back in the truck, there was a foul redolence of sweaty feet that permeated the cab. It was a horrid smell that deserved more than the two windows of aeration.

You know what else stinks? Your soul? That is until it was washed in the blood of Jesus, (Imagine Billy Sunday just preaching your sins away as you read that). Seriously folks, we stink to God. That’s why when we worship (responding to who God is and what He does in our lives), we are like a pleasing aroma to Him.

2 Cor. 2:15 (NIV) – For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.

That means only God can wash away our stank. Maybe you ask how we acquired such a funk. I’ll tell ya; the world baptized us in funk. We were born into sin. Not to get all crazy on ya (maybe I have already talking about sin and all) but we were born separated from the holiness of our creator. When we exited our mommy’s womb, we breathed in a stank. That stank covered us and that stank has been molding us since birth. There’s only one way to get rid of that stank.

I’m sure you’ve experienced stepping in a pile of mess once in your life and there was no getting rid of that stank so you threw your shoes away. Maybe you attend a gym and you gym clothes reek from a stench that makes the washing machine immediately quit working. That kind of stench doesn’t go away on its own. There has to be some serious purging. Disinfection is not going to work on them clothes nor will any disinfection work on your soul. That’s why the God tells us we have to be made a new creation.

2 Cor. 5:17 (NIV) – Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: the old has gone, the new is here.

No power in Heaven or earth can dispel your stank. It’s got to go. I’m surprised my friend didn’t throw my boots out the window. I’m surprised my other friend’s wife didn’t but a no entrance sign on her car door. I was carrying with me some stank. Until I found Christ, I was spiritually carrying around some stank. And I would venture to say unless you know Christ and follow him, you stink!

Leave a Reply

