Yanahli Wildlife Management Area

Me and Joe

Me and Joe

Over Spring Break, my nephew and I hit a local horse trail. One website says it is 11 miles and another website says 15 miles of trail. Either case, we ended up doing about 12 because we got lost on the trail and picked it up down the road. It was a pretty good hike. We had to find somewhere to set up the hammocks which was a little difficult because we wanted to be near the river yet the only place to set up was on a bluff overlooking the river.

After we had set everything up, I realized we needed water and the river was inaccessible from where we were at so I decided I needed to go back a couple of miles and look. About 100 yards from the campsite, we had crossed a dry watershed. When I went back I decided to go down it to see if there were any pools of water I could filter and found a spring coming out of the hill.

I got back to camp and took a nap. About 3:30, Joe woke me asking what time it was. He decided he didn’t want to stay out in the woods so we packed everything back up and headed back to the truck just before dark.

It didn’t go as planned but still had a good time being in the woods. Hopefully, more trips to come.

Yanahli Wildlife Reserve

Yanahli Wildlife Reserve

Yanahli Trail

Yanahli Trail

Joe hiking

Joe hiking

The trail at Yanahli

The trail at Yanahli

Duck River

Duck River

Leave a Reply

